Shifting Sands

It seems my mind has been on the ups and downs we go through in this journey called life. One of my favorite hymns lately has been “Mixtures”.

Mixtures of joy and sorrow I daily do pass through
Sometimes I’m in the valley and sinking down with woe
Sometimes I am exalted—on eagles’ wings I fly
I rise above my troubles and hope to reach the sky

The worship services at Oak Hill were amazing. God was certainly there, and I received more blessings from Him than I can count.

As I was driving away from the church house yesterday afternoon, I began to cry. (Yes, it’s okay for a man to cry. Jesus wept.) I think mostly I was sad at the idea of going back into the world. When you’re on life’s mountain tops and you know you’re about to encounter valleys before the next mountain top, it can bring you down a little I suppose.

A song was in my head as I was driving away, and I suddenly realized how appropriate it was for what I was feeling at the time. (Isn’t it wonderful when our Father knows what we stand in need of and gives it to us before we ask?)

Oh, bear me up angels across life’s shifting sands
Lest I should stumble
Bear me up in your hands

Some hymns are very special to us; the words hit home with us and speak to our hearts. Other hymns we just sing along and don’t quite receive a blessing like we should. “Bear Me Up Angels” has always fit in that second category for me—until yesterday.

I had never focused on the “shifting sands” part, but that is perhaps the most important part of that hymn. The reason we need God’s help, the reason we call upon Him when we otherwise might not, the reason we need His angels to bear us up, is because the sands on the shores of life shift beneath us.

Things that we trust in are so often temporal—they can be removed from our life in the blink of an eye (Psalm 46…though the mountains be moved, God is our helper). God has told us in His word to do the exact opposite of what we often do. We are commanded to set our affection on things above and not things on the earth.

“…for the things which are seen are temporal; but the things which are not seen are eternal.”

Thank you, God, for the blessings I encounter when worshipping Thee. Please help me through the storms and “shifting sands” of life. Direct my paths, and help my heart to be rightly focused on the spiritual rather than the carnal.

2 thoughts on “Shifting Sands

  1. Eric_M January 6, 2011 / 3:50 AM

    Hi Randall,
    The words to “Bear me up Angels” came to mind when I was reading a FB update from a friend of mine. I sent her the words and was looking for a site that might have the music or singing and found your comments on the song. I liked them so well I copied your link to my message. I hope she finds them as comforting as I have.

    Thanks,
    Eric M.

  2. Randall January 6, 2011 / 12:18 PM

    Thanks so much for the kind words. I do hope your friend receives a blessing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

