word

I woke up yesterday with these passages on my mind, and I feel compelled to share my thoughts on how they relate. 

·         Thy word have I hid in mine heart, that I might not sin against thee.

·         Give us day by day our daily bread. 

·         …Man shall not live by bread alone, but by every word that preceedeth out of the mouth of God.

How many of God’s people go day by day without their “daily bread”?  We are clearly instructed regarding the benefits of God’s word within the word itself.  Yet many days pass in our lives where the holy scriptures sit unused—unappreciated—by a people whose prosperity results in them being so comfortable that they forget the very God who blest them with their prosperity.

·         Woe to them that are at ease in Zion…

Consider this passage, also:

·         All scripture is given by inspiration of God, and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness:  That the man of God may be perfect, throughly furnished unto all good works.

If the scriptures are profitable and inspired of God, why do we so callously take them for granted?  Why are we compelled to read every “self-help” book on the market before we read the best self-help book?

We face many difficulties in this life, and yet how many of those could be avoided or their impact lessened if we had the proper instruction from God already committed to our minds before those troubles came?  The word of God is profitable for instruction in righteousness—it can help us avoid life’s pitfalls.  How great our God has been to us in providing the infallible “instruction manual” for this life!  Could we not avoid some of the sins that so easily beset us by immersing ourselves in God’s book?

And what better example do we have than Christ?  Let us look at His example.  When He was tempted of Satan, what was His response?  He quoted scripture to him!  The word of God will not fail us if we will learn it and use it!  When Satan is tempting us, what better response could we give than quoting God’s word?  I have done this many times within myself (though not nearly enough) when I find myself being tempted, and believe me it works wonders!

There are times in my life when I was more diligent than other times when it came to reading the scriptures.  I recall instances during those times when I was tempted by sin, but a hymn or a scripture came to mind.  I had “hid” God’s word in my heart, and it was there to help me at a time when I might otherwise have sinned against my God.  How much better my life would be if I would apply myself more diligently!

·         These were more noble than those in Thessalonica, in that they received the word with all readiness of mind, and searched the scriptures daily, whether those things were so.

Let us be more like the brethren at Berea and more like our Lord and Savior Jesus Christ in studying and knowing the scriptures—they can help us when we need it most!

3 thoughts on “word

  1. missmay828 October 2, 2008 / 3:06 PM

    or… maybe less like those in Thessalonica, and more like those in Berea. 😉 good thoughts; definitely much needed at this time!

  2. Randall October 2, 2008 / 3:10 PM

    Oops! I fixed it. Thank you so much for pointing this out!I appreciate the comments!

  3. Angie Nichols October 5, 2008 / 3:33 AM

    Hi Randall! I clicked on your blog from your facebook page. Loved your thoughts about the Word. I’ve only just recently begun to experience its power. Sadly, it sat on my nightstand and only was moved on Sunday mornings. Now it truly is my DAILY bread. Good to ‘see’ you. Congrats on the new nephew…tell Trav congrats from us too.You can catch up with us athttp://www.caringbridge.org/visit/mycahnicholsMuch blessingsangie

Leave a Reply

