Valleys

I realize I’m falling behind on my blog posts. I’ve had some ideas, and I have several drafts started…just shells of new posts at this point.

I’m honestly going through a lot in my life right now and just thought I’d write a little about that. There are so many people in my life that need prayers (more so than ever, it seems), and I need prayers myself. I’ve shared this with some folks, but I haven’t felt like I’m in the right spot geographically in my life. It’s hard to explain, but I have a feeling that I need to be some place other than Lubbock. The hard part is figuring out where that’s supposed to be. My continual prayer is that the Lord will guide my footsteps and direct my paths…to show me where I’m supposed to be, even if that’s to remain in Lubbock.
I get depressed with my life sometimes…disgusted with it and with myself, and yet I feel so helpless to fix it all. I ask the Lord for help, and though He’s been so gracious to me in so many ways I don’t seem to get answers. I am trying to be patient; I know that the Lord doesn’t work on my timetable.
A favorite hymn of mine lately has been Thorny Desert.
Dark and thorny is the desert thru which pilgrims make their way,
But beyond this vale of sorrows lie the fields of endless day;
Fiends, loud howling thru the desert, make them tremble as they go;
And the fiery darts of Satan often bring their courage low;

O young soldiers are you weary of the troubles on the way?
Does your strength begin to fail you, and your vigor to decay?
Jesus, Jesus will go with you; He will lead you to His throne;
He who dyed his garments for you and the winepress trod alone.
I am still young (33), and I realize that I haven’t gone through so many of the difficulties that those older than me have faced. And, some of God’s children who are younger than me have been through adversities that make me ashamed of the fact that I sometimes feel sorry for myself. If I live on this earth much longer, I don’t doubt that I will face more problems than those that I’ve already faced. The scriptures tell us that in this world we shall have tribulation. I also know that God has promised to never leave us nor forsake us, and because of that promise I do not fear what the world will hurl at me. I do not fear because I know that the Lord Jesus Christ has overcome the world. This brings gladness to my heart, and yet the daily grind continues to get me down.
When I’ve written some of my posts, I’ve been on top of the mountain. I suppose it’s appropriate that I also write some when I’m down in a valley. It’s not a joyous place to be, and were it not for the knowledge that I have victory in the resurrection of Jesus, my Savior forever, I would be of all men most miserable.
Much love to all who may be reading this. I thank each of you for your prayers on my behalf. May God’s richest blessings be upon you!
2 thoughts on “Valleys

  1. Tammy March 3, 2010 / 5:43 PM

    Randall,
    I have spent some time reading your posts this morning, and when I read this one, I thought of Psalms 40. As was with David, I pray that God will set your feet upon a rock and establish your goings. I know you are already established upon The Rock of Ages, Jesus Christ our Lord, as evidenced by your walk in this life. I pray God will deliver you in your young and restless stirrings and set you in the path He would have you go. It is difficult to wait upon the Lord at times to see what He has in store for us, but I believe He has great things in store for you! So take courage, have faith, and know that you are in my prayers.
    Many blessings,

  2. Randall March 5, 2010 / 2:48 AM

    Your comments mean so much to me and are very humbling. Your prayers are especially important to me, Sister Tammy. I appreciate you!

    Thank you for taking the time to read my little blog. I am always happy to hear comments, both good and bad, that folks may have about my writings.

    May our Lord shed His abundant blessings upon you!

Leave a Reply

